Englands red list slashed as 47 nations removed including Bali and Thailand

Don’t miss a thing by getting the Daily Star’s biggest headlines straight to your inbox!

From 4am on Monday morning English tourists will be able to travel to all four corners of the globe without fear of a long, costly quarantine on their return.

The red list of 54 countries has been slashed to just 7, with numerous South East Asia and South America countries now open to English tourists.

South Africa, Mexico and Brazil all removed from the list.

Thailand, Indonesia and holiday haunt Bali were also cut, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced.

English holidaymakers travelling home from these destinations will no longer need to quarantine in a hotel for eleven days and pay £2,285 on their return.

The unlucky seven countries staying on the list are Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Panama, the Dominican Republic, Haiti and Venezuela.

The news comes just hours after the Foreign Office announced changes to its travel advice for over 30 countries and territories around the world, allowing for non-essential travel.

Bangladesh, Fiji and French Polynesia are some of the destinations to which English tourists' travel insurance is now valid, The Mirror reported.

  • 'Death Star UFO' skims across moon's surface in stunning crystal clear footage

Travel from red list countries is banned unless people have residence or nationality rights in the UK, in which case they can come but must stay in a pricey government quarantine hotel.

Visitors to the UK and returning holidaymakers must take a Day 2 PCR test after landing, with no need to isolate or take a pre-departure test.

At the end of the month the PCR requirement will be replaced by a cheaper lateral flow test alternative.

To stay up to date with all the latest news, make sure you sign up for one of our newsletters here .

Authorities fear Brits are being put off their holidays by the expensive PCR test rules.

Travel rules changed earlier this week to scrap the traffic light system which graded countries either red, amber or green.

Now there is a single red, 'no-go' list of just seven countries.

  • Coronavirus
  • Breaking News

Source: Read Full Article